Carnegie Museum of Natural History

For more information, contact: Leigh Kish
Carnegie Museum of Natural History
412.622.3361 (office), 412.526.8587 (mobile)

February 18, 2014


Carnegie Museum of Natural History Announces the Winner of the 2013 Carnegie Mineralogical Award

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania … Carnegie Museum of Natural History is pleased to announce that Gloria Staebler, founder of Lithographie, Ltd.—a niche publishing house serving the mineral-collecting and research communities—, is the winner of the 2013 Carnegie Mineralogical Award. Carnegie Museum of Natural History Collection Manager and Head of the Section of Minerals Marc L. Wilson presented the award to Staebler on February 15 at the 2014 Tucson Gem and Mineral Show. The Carnegie Mineralogical Award honors outstanding contributions in mineralogical preservation, conservation, and education, and is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the field of mineralogy.

             “I’m inspired by Gloria’s years of contributions to the mineral community and her dedication to perfection in the Lithographie monographs,” says Wilson. “She is a great addition to our list of Carnegie medalists.”

            Under Staebler’s leadership, Lithographie has published 22 books and monographs related to mineralogy. Some of these publications, including the 18-volume monograph Minerals, have become seminal reference tomes for professional collectors and students alike. Through Lithographie, Staebler has also published the books Collecting Arizona and the award-winning American Mineral Treasures.     

Staebler has served on the Board of Directors of the National Chapter of Friends of Mineralogy for 11 years. She is past newsletter editor and has variously served as Secretary and Vice-President. She is the mother of four children and grandmother of one. She resides in Colorado with her partner, Dave, and son, Corey.

The Carnegie Mineralogical Award was established in 1987 by Carnegie Museum of Natural History and underwritten by Hillman Foundation. Previous recipients of the Carnegie Mineralogical Award include:

2012 Dr. George W. Robinson

2011 Dr. Jeffrey E. Post

2010 The Rochester Mineralogical Symposium

2009 Dr. Peter K.M. Megaw

2008 Dr. Frank C. Hawthorne
2007 Jeffrey A Scovil
2006 Richard C. Whiteman
2005 June Culp Zeitner
2004 Dr. Joel A. Bartsch
2003 Dr. Eugene S. Meieran
2002 Dr. Terry C. Wallace, Jr.
2001 Dr. Wendell E. Wilson
2000 Dr. F. John Barlow
1999 Sterling Hill Mining Museum
1998 Robert W. Jones
1997 Bryan K. Lees
1996 Dr. Cornelis (Kase) Klein
1995 Marie E. Huizing
1994 The Mineralogical Record
1993 Dr. Cornelius S. Hurlbut, Jr.
1992 Dr. Carl A. Francis
1991 Dr. Miguel A. Romero Sanchez
1990 Paul E. Desautels
1989 Dr. Frederick H. Pough
1988 Dr. John Sinkankas
1987 The Tucson Gem & Mineral Society


Nominations are now being accepted for the 2014 Carnegie Mineralogical Award. Private mineral enthusiasts and collectors, educators, curators, mineral clubs and societies, museums, universities, and publications are eligible. For a nomination form, go to or contact by mail: Marc L. Wilson, Minerals and Gems, Carnegie Museum of Natural History, 4400 Forbes Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4080, by phone at 412.622.3391, or by email at


Carnegie Museum of Natural History, one of the four Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh, is among the top natural history museums in the country. It maintains, preserves, and interprets an extraordinary collection of 22 million objects and scientific specimens used to broaden understanding of evolution, conservation, and biodiversity. Carnegie Museum of Natural History generates new scientific knowledge, advances science literacy, and inspires visitors of all ages to become passionate about science, nature, and world cultures. More information is available by calling 412.622.3131 or by visiting the website,