Invertebrate Zoology

Staff & Research

John E. Rawlins, PhD
Curator & Head of Section
RawlinsJ@carnegiemnh.org
412.688.8668
412.688.8670 (fax)

Chen W. Young, PhD
Associate Curator Emeritus
YoungC@carnegiemnh.org
412.688.8669
412.688.8670 (fax)

James Fetzner, PhD
Assistant Curator of Crustacea
FetznerJ@carnegiemnh.org
412.688.8666
412.688.8670 (fax)

Robert Davidson, MA
Collection Manager
DavidsonR@carnegiemnh.org
412.688.8667
412.688.8670 (fax)

Hillary Fetzner, MS
Laboratory Assistant
FetznerH@carnegiemnh.org
412.688.8666
412.688.8670 (fax)

Robert Androw
Scientific Preparator
AndrowR@carnegiemnh.org
412.353.4665
412.688.8670 (fax)

Jane Hyland
Scientific Preparator
HylandJ@carnegiemnh.org
412.622.3259
412.688.8670 (fax)

Vanessa Verdecia
Laboratory Assistant
VerdeciaV@carnegiemnh.org
412.622.3259
412.688.8670 (fax)

Walt Zanol
Laboratory Assistant
ZanolW@carnegiemnh.org
412.622.3259
412.688.8670 (fax)

Research Associates 

Click here for a list of research associates.

Section History 

Click here for an overview of past staff.

Volunteers and Students 

Entomological Preparation Using Work-Study Students (1992–2004)
Work-Study Programs at University of Pittsburgh/Carnegie Mellon University/PHEA are based on 25,862 hours of work over 13 years, valued at $197,497

workstudy4 

Curatorial Assistance and Preparation by Volunteers (1991–2004)
Based on 138 volunteers over 14 years
Average volunteer hours per year = 1,213
Valued at $9,222/yr or $129,109 over 14 years

 volunteer4